Ogun Guber: PDP, LP candidates missing as Abiodun others make INEC list

Ogun Guber: PDP, LP candidates missing as Abiodun others make INEC list

The names of the governorship candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and that of Labour Party (LP) were conspicuously missing in the list published by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) following the release of names of parties’ flag-bearers of 13 political parties and their candidates made the final list.

PDP appeared on the list, but the names of both the governorship candidate, Ladi Adebutu and his running mate, Adekunle Akinlade, were missing. The Commission cited ‘court order’ as reason for omission.

A Federal High Court sitting in Abeokuta had last week nullified all the primaries conducted by the party in the state. The court also barred INEC from recognising Adebutu as the governorship candidate and ordered the conduct of fresh primaries for all the positions within 14 days.

In the case of LP, neither the party nor its candidate, Kehinde Shogunle and running mate, Dr. Aishat Lawal Keshiro, appeared on the list.

PDP governorship hopeful, Segun Showunmi, has, however, headed to the Supreme Court to seek redress, claiming that the judgment of the Federal High Court did not affect his case.

Showunmi had earlier before the Ogun PDP primaries dragged the Sikirulahi Ogundele-led party executive to an Ogun State High Court sitting in Abeokuta, asking it to dissolve the party officials for alleged bias, but the court said the matter was a party affair, which it could not rule over.

Showunmi proceeded to the Appeal Court, where two of his three prayers were granted; but the appellate court agreed with the lower court that the matter was a party affair.

Meanwhile, Governor Dapo Abiodun has been confirmed as the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the 2023 election in Ogun. Abiodun is running with his Deputy, Noimot Salako-Oyede, the list confirmed.

The Resident Electoral Commission (REC), Niyi Iyalaje, told newsmen that the list pasted was the one authorised by INEC’s headquarters in Abuja.

Reacting, PDP spokesman, Akinloye Bankole, said: “INEC simply obeyed the court order and that explains why our candidates’ names were missing. We have appealed the judgment and we await the decision of the appeal court on the issue.”

Some of the candidates listed by INEC include Governor Dapo Abiodun of the All Progressives Congress; Biyi Otegbeye, African Democratic Congress (ADC); and Oguntoyinbo Femi Ajadi for the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), among others.