Ogun lawmakers pass vote of confidence on Speaker

Ogun lawmakers pass vote of confidence on Speaker

Lawmakers in the Ogun State House of Assembly on Thursday passed a vote of confidence on the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Oludaisi Elemide.

The passage of the resolution followed a motion moved by the Majority Leader, Mr Yusuf Sherif seconded by the minority leader, Mr Lukman Adeleye with the concurrence of other twenty lawmakers present at a plenary held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta. 

Lawmakers including the Deputy Chief Whip, Mr Babatunde Tella and Mr Adeleye said that the election of the new Speaker, Mr Elemide, was the unanimous decision of the lawmakers, adding that the legislature was at the liberty to effect a change of leadership as lawmakers desired.

Earlier, the Minority Leader, Mr Adeleye informed the House of the receipt of a court summon initiated by the impeached Speaker Mr Olakunle Oluomo, which was served on eleven lawmakers, including the Clerk of the House/Head of Legislative Service and the Deputy Clerk regarding the impeachment that took place barely two weeks ago.

Responding, the Speaker, Mr Elemide applauded his colleague-lawmakers for their belief in his leadership, adding that the House under his leadership would continue to be exemplary in the discharge of its constitutional duties.